I’ve Been a Bad, Bad Bev…, by Beverly Hicks Burch

I’ve Been a Bad, Bad Bev…

By Beverly Hicks Burch


It all started innocently enough. T & H gave me the GPS (does it really mean Global Positioning System?) and told me to go shopping…and I did…and you probably can guess how the rest of the story goes.

You see this past weekend we planned a really nice excursion to the Grand Canyon, but T & H had to work last Friday (at least most of the day). That meant we had to check out of the hotel where we had been staying for the week when he left for work Friday morning. This left me with some time on my hands before we could head for northern Arizona and start our Grand Canyon trip.

So after dropping him off at work, I sat in the parking lot and browsed through the GPS just to see what was around. Keep in mind he was working at the Scottsdale (AZ) office… At first I tried to find some book stores nearby…no luck. Then I punched in the search for “Old Scottsdale”.

Well, I drove down there and, don’t get me wrong as nice and quaint as it was it doesn’t take too long to scope out steak houses, Mexican cafes, Western shops, etc. I just prefer to have a shopping buddy for that kind of thing I guess. You have found out one of my hidden secrets: This gal DOES NOT live to shop…well, unless it’s under the right circumstances…I LOVE ONLINE SHOPPING!

Next, I decided I would try to find T & H some body wash from that infamous shop that tends to siphon cash from our wallet…you know the place…bath & body products, aromatherapy products, candles, scent oils, etc. T & H was out of body wash so being the considerate gal that I am, I thought I’d pick it up for him.

I reached over for the GPS, hit the search mode, punched in the name for the body indulgence store and eureka! There was one less than 2 miles away.

Giddily I followed the directions to the stores, but as I got closer, something told me things were not as they should be. I really knew something was wrong when I turned on the blinker (a Southern term for the turn signal), pulled into the appointed address and the sign informed me I was at an assisted living facility! NO! These products were suppose to prevent that…

Note: GPS devices are tools of the devil…THEY WILL LIE TO YOU!!! DO NOT BELIEVE THEM! THEY WILL LEAD YOU DOWN THE WRONG ROAD!!!

Ok…just kidding…well, sort of…but, GPS devices are NOT always right. Just a word to the wise. I sill love an old fashion atlas…

So, T & H did not get his body wash.

By then I was in need of real therapy. Taking a chance with that devious little liar called a GPS, I reached over, typed in “quilts” in search mode and…OMG! (OMG = Oh My Gosh!) There was a LIST…a real list of shops!

I don’t know why I picked the one I did but I did and it was in Phoenix. This time the GPS was right. It was faithful and true when it came to quilt shops…I’ll give it credit there…and that’s where it counts!

The shop I picked was called Quiltz. When I arrived I told myself I would go in and pick up a “few” fabrics to remind me of my trip to AZ. A long time ago I decided to opt for fabric as one of my souvenir choices. It’s so much better than ceramic ash trays…especially since I don’t smoke nor does T & H.

All I can say is, darn that 50 pound limit on luggage!! Are airlines craaaazy!!! Do they not know how much fabric weighs…what’s a quilter to do?!

Yep, my “few” pieces grew into a sizable bag containing fabric, book(s), and assorted goodies. I took pictures this morning and thought I’d share the results of my “hunting and gathering” with you. Note the batik…your eyes do not deceive you…those are buffalo/bison…

New Fabric #1

New Fabric #1

fabric-1-up-close

Fabric 1 – up close

new-fabric-2

New Fabric #2

fabric-2-up-close

Fabric 2 – up close

new-fabric-3

New Fabric #3

fabric-3-up-close

Fabric 3 – up close

new-fabric-4

New Fabric #4

fabric-4-up-close1

Fabric 4 – up close

new-fabric-5

New Fabric #5

fabric-5-up-close

Fabric 5 – up close

new-fabric-6

New Fabric #6

fabric-6-up-close1

Fabric 6 – up close

new-fabric-7

New Fabric #7

new-fabric-8

New Fabric #8

fabric-8-up-close

Fabric 8 – up close

combo

Combo

new-fatz

New Fatz

the-new-book

The New Book – I got this book with T & H in mind. The author is from his native New Mexico.


© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

