Newest Southern Stars, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Newest Southern Stars

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Well, I’ve finished the latest of the Southern Stars Block of the Month (BOM) from Connecting Threads.

The newest stars in the BamaSteelMagnolia™ universe are blocks #3 and #4. Block 3…oh brother! I became very reacquainted with my seam ripper while completing that block.

It was that darn pinwheel in the center that caused the problem. The original fabrics I chose for the center pinwheel just weren’t jiving for me once it was completed. So, once the block was finished it said there in the quilt room whining and crying and begging, “Fix me…I need to pop more.”

So, I did. I ripped that little bugger apart…well, the central part, cut new parts, assembled them and viola! A new block 3 was born.

Block 4 went together pretty much without a hitch…

So, onward to blocks # 5 & 6. Their star DNA is in the making as we speak. Translation? Color planning stage :).

Southern Stars BOM #3

Southern Stars BOM #3

Southern Stars BOM #4

Southern Stars BOM #4

SS BOM # 3 & 4

Southern Stars BOM #3 & 4 together

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

