A New Table for Work, by Beverly Hicks Burch

A New Table for Work

By Beverly Hicks Burch

I can’t tell you how much I dread cutting my fabric sometimes. Why? A big resounding “ouch” as in pain in the back and/or hips!

You see my health isn’t the best in the world. Among other things I have joint and muscle problems. Then about a year ago I was diagnosed (although I suffered with it for a long time not knowing what it was) with bursitis in my hip. It is a pain beyond description…almost like trying to birth a 12 pound baby out you joint!

Cutting fabric for a quilt can add to the stress and pain of back and joints, especially if you cut your fabric on a short (or even standard) height surface. After a while you begin to feel like Quasimodo…and after awhile my back and hip are screaming! I can feel the pain stretch all the way down to my foot.

But, most of us just don’t feel comfortable sitting down to use our rotary cutter

My house in Alabama had an island in the kitchen and it was just the right height for rotary cutting. I would use it on occasion to cut my fabric. If you have one, give it a try…you’ll be surprised at the relief off your back.

Unfortunately when I left that house, I couldn’t carry the island with me, so for the last several years I’ve been doing my best painful Quasimodo imitation. Until this weekend…

Tall & Handsome and I had run into Sam’s to check on a couple of things. Suddenly I saw his blue eyes light up and when I followed his gaze I immediately knew why. He was looking a table I knew was bound for our quilt room…

The table top is made out of durable, hard impact plastic. The surface measurement is approximately 24” x 36”…just the right size for a large rotary mat. So, what makes this table so different from any other table I could have purchased that size? Two things.

First, the legs can adjust to three different heights…the tallest is 36”. Just the right size for no more hunched up cutting! Second, the table folds in half for easy storage and putting away…there’s even a handle on the side for carrying. All that and it’s priced under $45.

Needless to say, one found its way into the back of the Jeep. I thought I’d share a few pictures of the table at work…

My new table

The New Work Table – just right for rotary cutting

Another table view

Another View

The work surface

The Work Surface

Extendable legs

The extendable Legs

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

