Two New Baby Southern Stars BOM, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Two New Baby Southern Stars BOM

By Beverly Hicks Burch

I’ve had a very productive week. T & H also has even though he arrived back home from a conference sick as a puppy dog. His temp was almost 101°!

Among the other things I accomplished this week were the completion of blocks number 9 and 10 of the Southern Stars block of the month (BOM). That leaves two more blocks to finish and then I can sash them and add borders!!

I picked up another batik I couldn’t resist and have incorporated it in the BOMs.

Once again these blocks were machine pieced and the rotary cutter was used to cut all the fabric…no templates!

It just so happens T & H and I watched a Fons and Porter episode (#1301) couple of weeks ago that demonstrated the diagonal piecing method. (You don’t cut triangles…you use squares you sew into the corner of another square and the trim the excess for a seam allowance.) If you have a chance to catch the episode I would recommend it!

Take a gander at the two new blocks in the BamaSteelMagnolia™ solar system…

Souther Stars BOM 9

Southern Stars BOM #9 – I used the new batik in this block. You can see it in the corners and surrounding the center.

Souther Stars BOM 10

Southern Stars BOM #10

SS BOM 9 & 10

Blocks # 9 & 10 together

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment