One of the First, by Beverly Hicks Burch

One of the First

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Several years ago when I was the president of a quilt guild I would occasionally do a program called “Here is where I started and here is where I am…”

The program was usually prompted after a newer member said, “My stitches will never be that small!”

In the program I brought out my very first (humbling) project and had it next to my latest project. It was a study and comparison in extremes. This is where I was…and this is where I am…if I can do this, so can you… This is how lousy my stitching was and this is how improved it is…

Well, today’s pictures are not of that very first project, but it’s close.

This is a small wall hanging I made using the traditional log cabin pattern. There are things that are “wrong” of you will. I folded my backing to the front for the binding, and looking at the fabric I do believe is a poly/cotton blend. And the quilting…oh, my…, but, hey, it was an improvement over the very first. I made this in 1987 about a year after I started quilting. Thankfully by then I knew enough to start labeling my quilts.

If you don’t already do it, please find a way to label you work for future generations…they will thank you!

Log Cabin 1987 (2)

Log Cabin 1987

Log Cabin 1987 Detail

Log Cabin 1987 – Quilting Detail

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

