Let the Fun and Games Begin, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Let the Fun and Games Begin

By Beverly Hicks Burch

A few months ago while I was visiting Asheville, NC with Tall & Handsome, we stopped in the Asheville Cotton Co., a local quilt shop. I have to confess it wasn’t our last visit either.

While there we both fell in love with a line of fabric by Benartex. The collection is called Gotham and to me has a very Art Deco look. And, that for some reason reminds me of some of the architecture of Asheville itself. I guess it’s the city’s history with the Biltmore Mansion and Estate and the Grove Park Inn.

Anyway, we both fell prey to this fabric and purchase enough fabric to do individual projects…wall hanging size. It would be T & H’s second project and his first solo project.

He’s finished his top and it is stunning. I need to check and see if it’s packed yet for the move. If not I’ll snap a few pics and share them. I quite proud of his results.

I finished mine also and have started the hand quilting. We both followed patterns that were suggested by Benartex but of course with our own variations and twists. The pattern I adapted was called Pachisi. It may look complicated but it was really quite easy to do.

Since I changed mine up a bit, I’m thinking about naming mine “Let the Fun and Games Begin”…

Let the Fun and Games Begin 1

Let the Fun and Games Begin…with basting stitches

Let the Fun and Games Begin2

Let the Fun and Games Begin – Quilting Detail 1

Let the Fun and Games Begin 3

Let the Fun and Games Begin – Quilting Detail 2

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

One thought on “Let the Fun and Games Begin, by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. Hi Beverly! Well, I must agree, that is gorgeous fabric! No wonder you both fell in love with it. I love both the colors and the patterns.

    So…sounds like you are moving again?

    How’s life been treating you?

    Sara

Leave a Reply

