Momma’s Closet, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Momma’s Closet

By Beverly Hicks Burch

In 1986 I took up needle and thread and began a mostly self taught journey on the road to becoming a quilter or as some of the more “artsy” of our kind call themselves, “textile artist”. I was greatly inspired by the work of my maternal great-grandmother, Rebecca Shaffer McGee. Even though she passed away in 1971 a few months shy of her 97th birthday she had a lasting influence on me…one I dare say she would be surprised…and I hope pleased to know about.

Becky, as she was called, raised 10 children…my grandfather included, who each in turn had children of their own. The family grew into a sizeable family and Becky and Dan (my great-grandfather) had a passel of grandkids.

In addition to raising her family Becky was renowned for a variety of things. She was a respected midwife in Lawrence County, Tennessee. Not only did she deliver a good number of the children of Lawrence County during those years, she also delivered the majority of that passel of grandbabies…my Momma included. Becky was a top notch gardener…and she was a quilter. She made quilts for each of those grandbabies…no small feat if I might say so. This was in the day before rotary cutters and all the fancy bells and whistles we have that lend us ease and speed in our craft today.

Momma and her three siblings received Lone Star Quilts and it was the vibrant splashes of color in Mom’s quilt that gave me the latent quilting bug as a child. It lay dormant, incubating until 1986 when I couldn’t stand it any longer and I took my first tentative steps down my quilting journey.

Momma’s Lone Star is close to 45 – 47 years old now. She recalls her grandmother working on it when my youngest sister was a baby. At the time Becky was staying with my grandfather (Becky’s son) and grandmother. Mom said she remembers seeing her sit in a chair surrounded by boxes of her fabric. She would watch as Becky reached in the boxes for each piece to artfully put in its perfect place. The Lone Star itself is hand pieced, the extended background sections were added by machine…just proving that Grandmom did have enough sense to use the latest modern technology of her day to aid her in her work. The morale here for all you quilters…don’t let anyone put you down if you machine piece instead of hand piece!

Becky's Lone Star

Momma’s Lone Star – by Rebecca Shaffer McGee

Becky's Lone Star - Center Detail

Momma’s Lone Star – Center Detail – Made by Rebecca Shaffer McGee

Becky's Lone Star - Fabric Detail

Momma’s Lone Star – Fabric & Quilting Detail – Made by Rebecca Shaffer McGee

For a while it seemed like the quilting bug might have skipped a generation…or two. Mom had sewn dresses and such when we were little, but I had never seen Momma quilt. Then, not too long after I took up quilting, the bug bit Momma too, and she didn’t let moss grow under her feet. Even though she’s taken care of my mentally and physically disabled sister for over 40 years and become a grandmom herself, Mom found time to oil paint, tole paint, do needlepoint and amass a tidy little closet full of quilts and quilt tops waiting to be quilted. She’s like most of us quilters…she has plenty of UFO’s (UnFinished Objects) hovering around begging to be finished.

I didn’t realize…or had forgotten… just how many projects Mom had done until we were working in her new sewing room organizing things a little and arranging her new sewing closet. When I saw them, I knew it was time to take out the camera and start documenting (something I strongly recommend for you and yours). I realize I have to come up with a better way of displaying quilts when I photograph them, but until then preserving them in pictures is the important thing.

Documenting your quilts and the quilts in your family is extremely important! I would estimate thousands of quilts have been lost to the passage of time to families and their heirs because the quilts weren’t documented in one way or another. How many quilts can you think of in your family at this very moment that are laying around but no one has the slightest idea who the maker was or when the quilt was made? In addition to making a photographical record of your quilt, I strongly encourage you to label each and every project you undertake. Believe me, your heirs and future quilt makers will thank you!

So, in the spirit of sharing, I hope you enjoy the contents of Momma’s closet…

First Project

This was one of Mom’s 1st projects – wall hanging by Juanita Hicks

Amish Spinning Stars

“Amish Spinning Stars”,  by Juanita Hicks. Mom made this wall hanging for a guild challenge.

Christmas Basket

Christmas Basket,  by Juanita Hicks. This is a little wall hanging Mom has waiting to be quilted. She’s quite fond of Christmas pieces!

Christmas Rail Fence

Christmas Rail Fence,  Juanita Hicks

Christams Rail Fence - Top Detail

Christmas Rail Fence – Top Detail,  by Juanita Hicks

Christams Rail Fence - Border Detail

Christmas Rail Fence – Border Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Christmas Sampler

Christmas Sampler, by Juanita Hicks

Heart Runner

Running Hearts, by Juanita Hicks. A table runner Mom made…waiting to be quilted.

Maple Leaf Wall Hanging

Maple Leaves, by Juanita Hicks. This is a wall hanging/lap throw Mom made and I quilted for her a few years back.

Snowman in the Cabin

Snowman in a Cabin, by Juanita Hicks. Mom made this little wall hanging by embedding a novelty panel, the center snowman, within a Log Cabin block.

Pastel Nine Patch

Pastel Nine Patches, by Juanita Hicks

Pastel Nine Patch - Blue Detail

Pastel Nine Patches – Blue Square Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Pastel Nine Patch - Green Detail

Pastel Nine Patches – Green Square Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Pastel Nine Patch - Yellow Detail

Pastel Nine Patches – Yellow Square Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Pastel Nine Patch - Pink Detail 

Pastel Nine Patches – Pink Square & Quilting detail, by Juanita Hicks

Pastel Nine Patch - Border Detail

Pastel Nine Patches – Border Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Peacock Mystery

Peacock Mystery, by Juanita Hicks. This is Mom’s mystery quilt. It is her finished top and a result of a class I taught. The pattern is the same as my mystery quilt “Oh Say Can You See…It’s a Mystery” and my friend Shari’s “Stars Shine on Philip”

Peacock Mystery - Top detail

Peacock Mystery – Top Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Peacock Mystery - Border Detail

Peacock Mystery – Border Detail, by Juanita Hicks

Rose Corners

Rose Corners, by Juanita Hicks. Mom won several of these blocks in a Block of the Month drawing at a local guild she was a member of for several years. She plans on making a few more and adding borders.

One More to Go

Red & Green Applique. Mom also won these blocks in a Block of the Month drawing at a church group she belonged to…hers is among the rest.

Chickens in the Barn

Chicken in a Barn, by Juanita Hicks. Mom has a weakness for chickens.

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

7 thoughts on “Momma’s Closet, by Beverly Hicks Burch

    • Thanks! Mom’s put a lot of work into her work and I wanted to be sure to document it and my great-grandmother’s quilt. It was a lot of fun, too because it brought back a lot of memories.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

      Bev

  1. Pingback: Around the Block with the BamaSteelmagnolia(TM) – Momma’s Closet « A Steel Magnolia is an Iron Butterfly

  2. Hey Bev! How fun was that! I just loved looking at all those quilts and it makes me want to go to Joann’s and buy a lot more fabric and get started cutting out pieces immediately! And I think I will….bye!

Leave a Reply

