Mission Completed, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Mission Completed

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Many of you that have been following my blogs know that I started a project a few months back called The BamaSteelMagnolia™ Diaries. The concept is based on a book I picked up by Mimi Dietrich. A diary quilt tells the story of your life or what is important to you in quilt form or in “textile art”.

I’ve been told many times, by many people that I needed to write a book…and people, you don’t even know the latest…lol! So, I decided to take the diary quilt concept and combine it with my urge to write and love of writing and create The BamaSteelMagnolia™ Diaries. So far I’ve written about it here (Introduction), here – Chap. 1, here – Chap. 2, and here – Chap. 3. Believe me when I say…I’m not finished…there is more to come, but life has just been so crazy lately and dropped some unexpected “stuff” on us…and what’s a diary for, right?

About the time I decided to start my diary quilt I was teaching a friend of mine to quilt. Her first project was a quilt for her big, tall, sweet handsome son. Did I mention he is tall? 😉

Now, Shari will tell you she is a Type A and is compelled to finish a project before she starts another one. I tried to explain the quilter’s UFO theory, but so far Ms Shari just ain’t buying it…but…

As she was working on her mystery quilt, one of the (many) projects I was working on was my diary quilt and the concept began to grow on her and actually grabbed hold of her. The girl had to make one…and soon…and swiftly as it turned out.

We went fabric shopping and designed her quilt on my EQ6 software. She had decided her quilt would be a diary quilt for her Daddy. (I’ve explained how us Southern gals about our Daddy’s…) She named it Quilted Memories of Daddy’s Life.

Well, this weekend, Ms Shari finished that puppy…her second quilt. She started it in March and finished it in seven months…pretty darn good. I’d moved about a month ago, so we did the bias binding learning via texting, phone and email…and the gal got it, so what does it tell you about this pupil? Pretty impressive, huh? Oh by the way, I can now assure you…there is a very legitimate reason to have a camera phone!

So, I’d like to proudly share Shari and her diary quilt, Quilted Memories of Daddy’s Life.

Shari's Diary Quilt 2009

© 2009 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Mission Completed, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Leave a Reply

