Fruits of Labor, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Fruits of Labor

By Beverly Hicks Burch

In addition to all the crazy going on in my life at the moment I’ve also been working on a special project. Yes, the title of the blog is a pun on my results and upcoming events…

Just to clue you in…my family (extended) is about to grow by the exponent of two. It seems as my sister is about to welcome her first child, a special little bundle who will be coming “home” from China in the next few weeks, I am about to become a (young I might add ;)) grandmother for the first time sometime this fall. So, my parents will be gaining a second grandchild and their first great-grandchild.

This morning I added the last border to the baby quilt I’ve made for the first “begat” of my family tree and since it was so nice outside I decided to take it outside and take a few quick snaps. Take it mind, the final ironing hasn’t taken place, there’s probably some latent loose strings hanging on and the quilting is still ahead…this is just the top!

My theme was Noah’s Ark (I dig those begets) but I didn’t want too cutesy and with some upbeat colors and fabrics. I’m sure some of you will say, “Well, I would have never thought to have used that fabric…” And, for my son, there is a little something that discretely says a tiny, baby “Roll Tide”. Think you can catch it?

The center is made up of nine patch blocks spaced with plain square spacer blocks. From there I build outward with different borders including a pieced border called “teething ring” and one of my signature “filet borders”, a 3D or dimensional border that adds a little texture and extra interest. It’s the narrow pink border next to the brown border.

Hopefully I’ll have a final update for you once the baby quilt is quilted and the binding has been added.

Fruits of Labor 7

Fruits of Labor 2

Fruits of Labor 3

Fruits of Labor 4

Fruits of Labor 5

© 2010 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.