Embellishment and Mixed Techniques, by Beverly Hicks Burch

Embellishment and Mixed Techniques

By Beverly Hicks Burch

Recently I wrote about how my love for appliqué evolved in a post called Birmingham Album Quilt. This quilt was created using a technique called Baltimore Album technique which in many cases uses dimensional techniques like ruching, folding, reverse appliqué, building layers and so on.

But, my love of appliqué didn’t actually start there and of course, it didn’t end with that quilt. To get to that point I first had to hone some appliqué skills. I soon discovered I was adding an impressive collection of appliqué books to my already burgeoning quilt book library. (Note: I still haven’t quite wrapped my mind around how a quilt book can be translated to an eBook for a Nook or Kindle…even as fond Nook as I am. There just some book you have to have. Quilt books in my humble opinion are just such books.)

One book I added to my library was Applique Designs: My Mother Taught Me To Sew, by Faye Anderson. The minute I saw the book, I knew I would be making some sort of my version…and maybe several versions of the quilt since there are so many block designs in the book. (The blocks are 6 inch blocks.)

My process of making a quilt varies. Sometime I have the book/pattern and find the fabric…sometime I have the fabric and just need to find the pattern that inspires. In this case, I needed to find the fabric…

Now, let me ask you something. Do you remember 1998 and 1999? Looking back it’s hard to believe how innocent our world seemed at the time…and maybe how innocent we seemed. In some cases, I would trade those years for a lot more of that innocence.

The biggest worry at the time seemed to be the impending Y2K doom. Remember that? We actually believed that when Jan. 1, 2000 rolled around our world as we knew it would cease to exist because the computers in the world would crash because they would be unable to read the date Jan. 1, 2000. It was that clicking over from 1999 to 2000 that was going to do the trick.

Our cars would stop working, ATMs would no longer spit out cash at our disposal, cell phone would no longer work, financial markets would crash, Mickey Mouse would die (just kidding!) and any other impending doom you could think of would happen.

People were running out and stockpiling gasoline, food, cash, generators and anything else that would help them bunker down and be one the fittest that survived.

It also happened to be about the time I began finding the fabric for “the” quilt. I gather from here and there…finding some of the last fabric I needed in San Antonio, TX when I went to my son’s basic training graduation from Lackland AFB.

So, I began the quilt in the discombobulated days leading up to Y2K and finished it right at 2000. As a tribute to the times, the name of the quilt was born, From San Antone to Y2K.

This little quilt (a wall hanging) was a new challenge for me. This time I took on mixed techniques and embellishments along with the appliqué. For my first attempt, I was fairly pleased with the outcome.

Each block in 6 inches finished and has hand appliqué, embroidery work and embellishment with beads and sequins. I then hand quilted the top and made my own binding to complete the project.

So, here is From San Antone to Y2k for a close up look:

From San Antone to Y2K B

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 1

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 2

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 3

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 4

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 5

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 6

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 7

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 8

From San Antone to Y2K - Detail 9

From San Antone to Y2K - Border Detail 1

From San Antone to Y2K - Border Detail 2

 

© 2011 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

