Nautical Flags at Harbour Town Pier–Great Ideas for Quilt Blocks, by Beverly Hicks Burch

under the lighthouse

Today’s blog is to share an inspiration that has been rekindled by a recent trip Tall & Handsome and I took a few days ago…

I love nautical flags. For years I have sworn I would make a quilt using the designs from nautical flags. They’re so bright and cheerful and happy. I think it’s the primary colors that give them away…

As a matter of fact, if you are a quilter as well as a traveler and photographer, here is a website of the Alphabet in Nautical Flags. Most quilters will be able to pretty easily convert the flags into quilt blocks. I would recommend the rotary cutting method and maybe use EQ7 to design them.

The link to the website above gives you 26 flags each corresponding to a letter in the alphabet. I’m sure with EQ7 you could draft them to any size you desired and then get either rotary cutting directions or print out paper foundation piecing directions. I’m a rotary gal myself…

When my son was young, I planned on making a wall hanging using nautical flags that spelled his name out. I just never got around to doing it, although I did make him a sailboat quilt. Now that he’s grown and gone, I’ll have to find new inspiration to use these wonderful colorful flags…

Jared's Boat Race & the USAF

Jared’s Boat Race – taken before def digital photography – but you get the idea…

These flags lined the pier beneath or in front of the Harbour Town Lighthouse on Hilton Head Island, SC. It was a glorious sunny day and wonderful colors abound…

A dream for a photographer and textile artist…

If you do become inspired by these wonderful little flags and dream up a quilt, I’d love to see the results. Let’s us see what you’ve created! Feel free to come back and post your results!

© 2012 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

