Land of Enchantment, by Beverly Hicks Burch

It has been way too long since I have posted anything here at Around the Block. I do sincerely apologize. Life just sometimes has a way of inserting itself with rather nasty and inconvenient events that seem to engulf you at times.

But, regardless, even during those times – maybe I should say in spite of those times, I always try to find time to devote to quilting. It is during those times when quilting seems to soothe, comfort and normalize my life. It has now been over a year since a treasure family member passed away, and many times when I’m working I sit and think of the goods time we had.

Let’s talk about today’s project!

First the name. It’s a clue as to the theme of the quilt. Once again I’m working in the color palette southwest. Land of Enchantment is the state logo of New Mexico, the home state of my Tall & Handsome, so yet another quilt influence by him. He certainly is my muse many times.

The emblem on the state flag of New Mexico is called a zia and I have wanted to make a quilt with a zia for some time. The block I will show you today will translate nicely into a zia.

The colors: The gold represents the southwestern sun and the blue represents the ever present turquoise found so predominately in southwestern jewelry. The small bit of black found in the border fabric represents the small bit of black found marbled in turquoise.

The border design is yet to come and I’ll share that in a later post.

Land of Enchantment block

Individual Block for Land of Enchantment

Screen shot land of enchantment pull apart with text

Cutting and Piecing directions for Land of Enchantment block

1. Cut 2 A’s 10 1/2 ins. x 2 1/2 ins. – one blue and one gold

2. Cut 1 B 12 1/2 ins. x 2 1/2 ins. – one gold

3. Cut 2 C’s 8 1/2 ins. by 2 1/2 ins. – one blue and one gold

4. Cut 2 D’s 6 1/2 ins x 2 1/2 ins. – one blue and one gold

5. Cut 1 E 4 1/2 ins. x 2 1/2 ins. – one blue

6. Cut 8 squares 2 7/8 ins. x 2 7/8 ins. – 4 white and 4 gold and cut in half to form triangles to make pinwheels.

Land of Enchantment B

Building a zia

Land of Enchantment border fabric

Border fabric

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Land of Enchantment, by Beverly Hicks Burch

    • Thanks, Liz! I’ve been dabbling in a few things, but I haven’t documented them here…yet. 😉 One thing T & H and I’ve both taken on: learning free motion machine quilting. Oh, yes, is there a learning curve there lol!

      I’m going to post some of my beginning practice and maybe document progress. It’s exciting, but you know me, I’m a hand quilter at heart.

      I’m glad you like the colors in this one. They are happy colors aren’t they? One thing I learned. Those polka dots are not as easy to work with as you think think. :-/

Leave a Reply

