Regrouping for the Diary Quilt in 2014, by Beverly Hicks Burch

I’ve been writing about the diary quilt I started some time ago. I’ve name it The BamaSteelMagnolia’s Diares.

The concept is based on a book called A Quilter’s Diary: Written in Stitches Master Quilter Mimi Dietrich wrote a few years ago. I was mesmerized be the idea and decided to make a combined written and textile art project out of it. I would make a block and then write a chapter in the diary/book and explain why the block was important. That way I was killing several birds with the proverbial stone – block, check; diary quilt, check; write book about life every one says you need to write, check.

Now, I will admit it’s been a while since I’ve written a new chapter. I’ve made some blocks, but life has been a little hectic with illness, moving, class and a bunch of other junk –that probably will work its way into the the diary quilt.

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but a goal I would like to accomplish in 2014 is to move forward on this project and make strides in the progress of the quilt.

You’ll be able to catch back chapters and the introduction here at Around the Block.

I’ve written about the project over at HubPages and given the link there to the blog post that contains all the links to the chapters and introduction.

To give you a small taste of what’s in the quilt, here’s a picture of the block in the first chapter Happy Birthday to Me – the Cupcake Block.

Cupcake

The Cupcake Block

Is a diary quilt is your future? Take a look at my HubPage article. I was able to find a video of Mimi talking about her quilts and in the video she shows her diary quilt and explains the meaning. It was exciting to hear her talk about it. Catch up on the past chapters of mine here at Around the Block and who knows – you just might get the bug in 2014, too.

© 2013 Beverly Hicks Burch All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Regrouping for the Diary Quilt in 2014, by Beverly Hicks Burch

  1. I love the idea and your quilts which are beautiful. I’m wishing you success with everything, including all you desire in the new year. You are an awesome individual and deserve the goodness in life. Keep showing us the beauty in quilting.

    • Thanks, Marlayne. Such kind words coming from a wonderful lady.

      I hope to move forward on the diary quilt in 2014.

      I stumbled upon an idea for another project for 2014 and I can see how I could incorporate it into the diary quilt, too. Whew!

      Hugs,
      Bev

Leave a Reply

